Today, let’s go for a walk around Edgewater State Park.

I’ve been feeling a little lost lately and have needed to get my butt out of the house. This past Monday, the sun was shining, the snow was melting, and it was 40 degrees. In January!

Sounds like the perfect day to finally get to Edgewater State Park and explore its winter beauty.

There were a few cars in the parking lot when I arrived. Mostly dog walkers, but also some couples, holding hands and leaning into each other away from the cool breeze.

The park had a quiet calm and offered perfect solitude.

I immediately walked down to the beach when I noticed the lake was frozen. I had never seen frozen waves before. They really just looked like dirty piles of snow to me.

park1

My favorite tree in Cleveland did not disappoint. Even without its leaves, such a beauty.

park2

I skipped the danger of the icy rocks and made my way to the pier. I so wanted to stand over the frozen lake and look toward the Cleveland skyline.

collage

Well, it was certainly tempting to hop the little chain, but I decided instead to walk a bit more and see what I found. I wouldn’t have noticed this path had a man with his dog not been walking back up in my direction. He told me to be careful and had it been icy, I would’ve reconsidered my decision. Oh how happy I was, the path took me right down to where I could’ve basically stood on the lake. I didn’t though, don’t worry.

park

park4

I couldn’t get enough of frozen Lake Erie. It was my first time seeing it up close and I could’ve stayed down there forever. Slight smile, hat hair, and the frozen lake behind me. I was a happy girl.

Have you explored somewhere great this winter? Share away!

 

Leave a Reply

