Apartment searching makes me hungry.

Days with lots of driving around and trying to make life decisions can quickly become overwhelming. You know what makes it better?

Bac Asian Bistro in Tremont

Lunch on the patio at one of my favorite – so far! – Tremont spots. If you haven’t been to Bac yet, go there. Right now. Seriously. Well unless it’s dinner time and you’re starving I guess, because sometimes there’s a wait. So go tomorrow for lunch. But don’t wait until next week or next month because you’ll kick yourself if you do.

Anyway, PSA over. Bac is an Asian American Bistro in the trendy neighborhood of Tremont, on the corner of 14th and Auburn.

I had only previously dined at Bac for dinner and I was beyond excited when I started browsing their lunch options.

They offer bento boxes of three or four items. Perfect for those who want everything on the menu and, believe me, it’s an easy problem to have at this restaurant. There’s edamame, sweet potato fries, spring rolls, summer rolls, dumplings, and chili garlic wings, just to mention a few.

Plus, the green papaya salad. Everyone raves about it on Yelp. And they are all correct; it is delicious and tastes so fresh. Having already tried that a couple times, my friend and I opted for the bacon guacamole this time.

Bacon Guacamole at Bac Asian Bistro

Quite tasty. The wonton crisps complimented the guacamole, we just wanted more of them. I’m not sure I would crave this quite like I do the papaya salad, but of course there were no regrets with this order. How can you go wrong with guacamole?

For entrees, it was the mango yellow curry with chicken that jumped out at me on this visit. So yum, a nice mix of sweet and heat.

Mango Yellow Curry at Bac Asian Bistro

My friend chose the kim chi noodles with pork. Considering she lived in Korea for a few years, my friend was hoping for more kimchi, but she still loved it.

Kim Chi Noodles at Bac Asian Bistro

For next time, I already have my eye on the beef pho, steam buns, or the banh mi sandwich. Or all three? Why not, right?

The food alone is good enough for me to visit often, but I have to mention the service too. In my experience, the staff does a great job of finding a balance between being attentive, but not overbearing.

There are still some patio days left in Cleveland. If it were up to me, I’d spend almost all of them at Bac!

Patio Dining at Bac Asian Bistro

Keep in mind before you visit – Closed on Sunday. Lunch 11-3 M-F. Happy hour 3-6 M-F! Dinner all day Saturday. Good amount of street parking. Can get loud and packed sometimes.

Leave a Reply

